The Risks of Taking 10,000 IUs of Vitamin D3

Is it dangerous to take high amounts of vitamin D3? Here is what you should know.

DATA:

0:00 Introduction: Is it bad to take a lot of vitamin D?
0:10 What does “IU” stand for?
0:38 Are high amounts of vitamin D3 dangerous?
1:50 How much vitamin D you need and why
7:57 What is considered a toxic amount of vitamin D?
9:42 Learn more about vitamin D toxicity!

Are there risks of taking 10,000 IU of vitamin D3? In my opinion, there is a bigger risk of not taking “high” amounts of vitamin D3.

IU is the abbreviation for international units. 10,000 IU of vitamin D3 is equivalent to under one milligram.

The RDAs for vitamin D are between 600 to 800 IU. But, the great majority of people are deficient in vitamin D. The current RDAs for vitamin D are outdated and are based on old research related to preventing bone loss.

Every cell in the body has receptors for vitamin D, and the functions of vitamin D are vast. Vitamin D isn’t even really a vitamin. It’s a hormone. It acts very similarly to cortisol (another hormone) as an anti-inflammatory but without side effects.

In my opinion, a person really needs 10,000 IU of vitamin D3 as a maintenance dose. This has to do with there being a lot of different things that stop vitamin D from going into your body.

Another thing we need to look at when it comes to vitamin D is a person’s genes. I recently had 21 different individuals’ DNA tested, and 100 percent of them had at least one genetic problem with vitamin D absorption.

I believe that 10,000 IU of vitamin D3 is not toxic and is needed to penetrate some of the big barriers that keep people from getting enough vitamin D3.

The amount of vitamin D that could cause a toxic effect is still being debated. But, according to the research I’ve found, it would take hundreds of thousands of international units for months to create vitamin D toxicity.

However, as a precaution, be sure to consume plenty of water (2.5 liters a day), take other nutrients that support vitamin D absorption, and take nutrients that protect you against hypercalcemia (the main potential toxic effect).

Dr. Eric Berg DC Bio:
Dr. Berg, age 58, is a chiropractor who specializes in Healthy Ketosis & Intermittent Fasting. He is the author of the best-selling book The Healthy Keto Plan, and is the Director of Dr. Berg Nutritionals®. He no longer practices, but focuses on health education through social media.

Follow Me On Social Media:
Facebook:

Instagram:

Anchor:

TikTok:

Send a Message to his team:

Disclaimer:
Dr. Eric Berg received his Doctor of Chiropractic degree from Palmer College of Chiropractic in 1988. His use of “doctor” or “Dr.” in relation to himself solely refers to that degree. Dr. Berg is a licensed chiropractor in Virginia, California, and Louisiana, but he no longer practices chiropractic in any state and does not see patients so he can focus on educating people as a full-time activity, yet he maintains an active license. This video is for general informational purposes only. It should not be used to self-diagnose and it is not a substitute for a medical exam, cure, treatment, diagnosis, prescription, or recommendation. It does not create a doctor-patient relationship between Dr. Berg and you. You should not make any change in your health regimen or diet before first consulting a physician and obtaining a medical exam, diagnosis, and recommendation. Always seek the advice of a physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.

#keto #ketodiet #weightloss #ketolifestyle

Thanks for watching! I hope this helps you better understand vitamin D3. I’ll see you in the next video.

NEVER MISS A POST AGAIN...

Join our update list today!

Posted in

67 Comments

  1. Paul Campbell on June 28, 2023 at 10:08 am

    Great video! I’ve only been taking 4,000iu of D3 a day, but want to increase it. Thank you, Dr. Berg, for your clarification!

    • Random Vidz on June 28, 2023 at 10:19 am

      Why?

    • Paul Campbell on June 28, 2023 at 10:23 am

      @Random Vidz I don’t get enough sunlight where I live, and am getting older. I have heard for many years now that vitamin D3 is the most beneficial vitamin one can supplement their diet with.

    • Tony G on June 28, 2023 at 10:27 am

      I’m taking 5000 in the summer and 10000 in the winter for many many years

    • Tony G on June 28, 2023 at 10:28 am

      @Random Vidz several autoimmune disease in my case

    • Random Vidz on June 28, 2023 at 10:31 am

      ​@Paul Campbellyes you are right. I recommend you to get 10-15 thousand IU a day. You will see a massive difference. Good luck.

  2. Tomasine Beard on June 28, 2023 at 10:36 am

    I take 25,000 IU because I have diabetes and auto-immune disorders and high blood pressure. I know I need more than 10,000 IU. Thanks Dr Berg ❤

    • TheSteamMachine on June 28, 2023 at 10:38 am

      My brother uses insuline . (same case for you?) I was only giving him 4000 a day but looking at this, lets say 8000-10k is also safe than ?
      Cheers

    • Tomasine Beard on June 28, 2023 at 10:43 am

      @TheSteamMachine I don’t take insulin, I do 1 shot a week of Trulicity and take Metformin twice a day and its controlled very well.

    • Tomasine Beard on June 28, 2023 at 10:44 am

      @TheSteamMachine 10,000 IU would definitely be safe

    • Dug E on June 28, 2023 at 11:03 am

      ​@TheSteamMachinecheck with your doctor but…. They prob don’t have a very deep knowledge on this

    • kwake jacobs on June 28, 2023 at 11:35 am

      Metaphorman is terrible. Switch to a carnivore diet and add vegetables.
      My friend just want From an A1C of 10 to 6.5 in 4 weeks by switching.

  3. Michelle Day on June 28, 2023 at 10:42 am

    Thank you! It’s a shame our physician’s aren’t educated on this.
    I’m back on 10,000. My physician told me no longer than 1 month because I’ll become toxic…smh
    Thank you Dr. Berg!

    • Paul Campbell on June 28, 2023 at 10:56 am

      You should ask your physician why he believes it can be toxic, because a second opinion is always best.. Good luck!

    • Nemo on June 28, 2023 at 11:05 am

      I am taking 2,000 and it’s ok for me.

    • RealHomeRecording.com on June 28, 2023 at 11:14 am

      I took 5,000 IU from October until May of this year. I never got sick like I normally do and I’m still alive to type this so…

    • David S on June 28, 2023 at 11:17 am

      I been taking 10,000 daily for years and only toxicity I find is my relationships 🤔..I take MK-7 with it also

  4. MafiaMole on June 28, 2023 at 10:45 am

    Dr John Campbell has been vocal on taking D3 since the start of the Pandemic.
    I think he also covered a few months back that even in the UK, recommended dosages were too low. If I remember, he suggested that this may of been a result of over dosages of Vitamin D being administered at some point, and as a reaction they drastically reduced the recommended dosage.

    • Linzi Anderton on June 28, 2023 at 10:47 am

      👍

    • Janusz b on June 28, 2023 at 10:49 am

      But he takes 4000, not 20000

    • Angela P on June 28, 2023 at 10:57 am

      I like dr. Campbell very much so and I watch his channel he’s very informative

    • Peter on June 28, 2023 at 11:07 am

      @Janusz b he is now taking 200ug so close to 10000IU

    • RealHomeRecording.com on June 28, 2023 at 11:15 am

      I took a combined 6,000 IU each day from last fall until almost the beginning of summer so I’m still alive…

  5. Amita Mehra on June 28, 2023 at 11:21 am

    My dad is 103 and never taken any vitamins and has excellent skin, strong bones, sharp mind and basically been a vegetarian. Didn’t get jabs either. I really sometimes wonder what to do and what not to. My gut tells me to just enjoy life and eat healthy

    • Tairiku Okami on June 28, 2023 at 11:34 am

      Eating healthy is the issue here, because even healthy food is not healthy anymore, not just because of added chemicals and overall polution, but even Dr. Berg mentioned in another video, that the earth lacks the minerals and thus the food lacks it as well, even bio-food. So we do need supplements, unless we would live on an isolated clean island.

    • californiapoppy on June 28, 2023 at 11:40 am

      Can’t compare someone that old to modern times. Our food is absolutely nothing like it used to be, and neither is our earth or our society. Also, he might have the genetic marker for being a cenetarian.

    • nick kerinklio on June 28, 2023 at 11:44 am

      At his age he needs to be thinking about his soul more than his body

    • Kieth J on June 28, 2023 at 12:26 pm

      His food was more nutrient dense before the soil was used over and over and blasted with chemicals Also lived half his life without microplastics and dirty water. Now we have to consider all the statins and pharma poison doesn’t help

  6. Catherine on June 28, 2023 at 11:27 am

    I started taking 4000IUs of Vitamin D last winter. I am in my mid 50s and I started to develop horrible hot flashes and night sweats. I heard Dr, Berg mention in a previous video that Vitamin D acts like a hormone and so I stopped taking the Vitamin D just over 2 months ago and except for the very rare hot flash they stopped. That being said, my body is super sensitive. I tried taking the Pill 3x throughout my life and I couldn’t handle the mood swings that I had from it so I had to quit taking it.

    • JusticeIsNow on June 28, 2023 at 1:53 pm

      Yes .. everyone is different and you have to listen to what your body is telling you.

    • me on June 28, 2023 at 2:42 pm

      Sounds like menopause to me

    • Mac Clift on June 28, 2023 at 2:44 pm

      If you’re eating relatively well, a low level could possibly mean your body isn’t storing what it doesn’t need. Fair-skinned people in cold climates usually don’t need supplemental vitamin D.

    • Catherine on June 28, 2023 at 3:55 pm

      @me Lol, trust me I know my body very well! Of course I have had and continue to have some menopausal symptoms but nothing like when I took the Vitamin D. I know I am not the norm when it comes to this and it doesn’t thrill me because I know how important Vitamin D is to one’s health.

    • Catherine on June 28, 2023 at 3:56 pm

      @Mac Clift You summed me up perfectly and I sure hope that is the case! Thank you for replying!

  7. SAL on June 28, 2023 at 11:29 am

    Very interesting. I take 10,000 IU of D3 daily plus K2 (thanks to your info, Dr. Berg) but maybe I should double that amount. It’s so hot and humid here that I spend very little time outdoors. Once, years ago, my doctor put me on prescription strength Vit D because I tested deficient. Thank you, Dr. B. ❤

  8. Susan Weigel on June 28, 2023 at 11:29 am

    Good morning everyone! Let’s stay healthy and be at our best by staying informed. Thank you Dr. Berg for these videos, you make learning fun.

  9. Joe Jackson on June 28, 2023 at 11:33 am

    Great video Dr Berg. On the genetics, there was a study before covid, that was ongoing just before covid broke out, the preliminary results of the study were showing vitamin D plus Zinc act as the auto correct for our DNA ar cell division.
    Also, the studies showing vitamin D working with vitamin K2 did wonders for clearing artial calcification.
    Also, the studies showing zinc keep the vitamin D receptors open to vitamin D during viral infections, actually blocking viral loads from cells, so vitamin D could enter.
    Since it takes 2 to 3 days to convert D3 to D, if it’s not being diverted to storage, 10,000iu, plus appropriate amounts of K2 and zinc, is probably the absolute minnimum. Any less is probably worthless.
    Dr Berg your videos the last 5 days are amazing, you are firing on all cylinders. May God bless and protect you in these dark days ahead.
    This is kind of out there, but have you ever looked at the research into modern day Eucharistic Miracles?

    • Rick Reese on June 28, 2023 at 2:25 pm

      Excellent post
      Thank you 💯🤙🏻😎
      Blessings from, North Rocky Mountains

    • GMarounF on June 28, 2023 at 5:21 pm

      That’s definitely not true. I know someone who had low Vitamin D in her blood test. She took 1000IU a day to correct it. I only take 180mcg of K2 twice a week, as too can make you sick.

    • Joe Jackson on June 28, 2023 at 6:57 pm

      @GMarounF just suggesting you view Dr Bergs other videos on vitamin D/D3 and vitamin K2. If you think you are getting sick from taking K2, something else might be going on.

  10. Won too 3 fore 5 on June 28, 2023 at 11:50 am

    D³ @ 5000iu plus food D has me in low range of normal. Just had blood work done. I could easily take 15,000 and still be on the high side of normal range. Listening to this man and taking his advice. I’m off all meds and on only vitamins. I went from 170lbs to 145lbs. My triglycerides dropped by double and went from flagged H to middle normal. I feel great, I sleep great, look better. I’m 46 and feel more like 26 again. Thanks Doc!

    Vitamin D
    Standard Range30.00 – 100.00 ng/mL
    I’m 49 @5k D³

    Vitamin K
    my Value 651 pg/mL
    Standard Range130 – 1,500 pg/mL
    I take 100mcg K² mk7 daily

    • Not me on June 28, 2023 at 2:45 pm

      Maybe their “normal range” is wrong too. Is it based on science? Or just a guess of what is normal ?

    • Won too 3 fore 5 on June 28, 2023 at 2:59 pm

      @Notme-tq4xs  I don’t know. All I can say is do blood work so you know what your levels are. I’d be more concerned with low numbers rather than high (unless abnormally hi). One thing for sure is, none of my doctors know anything about vitamins. I’m healthier using a mix of Bergs way and mine. Counting calories was a real eye opener.

    • Jennifer Marlow on June 28, 2023 at 4:14 pm

      @Not me From what I’ve been able to find out, the normal range is that which will keep you from being deficient. So it’s definitely “LOW” normal, the bare minimum to avoid symptoms.

    • SunnySTX on June 28, 2023 at 4:30 pm

      I am the same. 5k a day of D3…i’m at low range of normal too. Doc also has me taking 100 K2, Krill/fish oil and B12.

  11. MetalSlave on June 28, 2023 at 11:50 am

    I’m a diabetic and I’ve been taking Vitamin D over the past two years and a half years, increasing my daily dose gradually starting at 2000 IUs. My dose has been 100,000 IUs every day for a year now. I also take K2, B complex and Zinc and MANY other supplements. I drink 300oz of water daily.
    Top benefits thus far:
    -Exponential hair growth
    -I’ve gotten sick just once since 2020
    -Considerable decrease in inflammation

    • Vr Xist on June 28, 2023 at 1:06 pm

      100k iu? How much pil?

    • foh on June 28, 2023 at 1:08 pm

      100k IUs ? did you mean to type 10k IUs ?

    • mike856ms on June 28, 2023 at 2:01 pm

      100, 000? I hope you meant 10,000

    • Shar Sue on June 28, 2023 at 2:18 pm

      Has your Vitie D regiment affected you being diabetic at all? Any improvement? You drink 37.5 8oz glasses of water a day. That’s a lot for sure!

    • eightfigs on June 28, 2023 at 3:18 pm

      What are the other supplements you take?

  12. Seth Cashman on June 28, 2023 at 12:13 pm

    How timely! I just started taking 10,000 IU maybe three weeks ago. My Vitamin D levels had previously been 23. A week-and-a-half later, I was retested and they were 35. Got sick three days ago and raised the dose to 20,000, which I’ll probably do for a week, before dropping back down to a “maintenance” dose of 10,000. Also taking 100 mcg of MK-7 and 1000mg of magnesium glycinate.

  13. Brooke Richards on June 28, 2023 at 12:22 pm

    Perfect timing! My family has a history of early death from heart/circulatory issues. My Aunt died of Lupus, my mother also had symptoms of Lupus. All my family are slender and active, athletic people. I couldn’t understand the family health issue. We are descendent of Swedish , Dutch , German, Scottish ancestry. So a few years ago, I researched and stumbled upon vitamin D deficiency from these areas of the World

    I immediately started supplementing with 2,000 units of vitamin D. Recently I have been feeling very fatigued; joint inflammation, brain fog, depression. Thinking that I may also be a Lupus sufferer, I changed my diet and increased the vitamin D to 10,000 units. I went in for blood testing and an ANA test. The Dr told me to stop all vitamin D as my test result was too high.

    I was really opposed to stopping the vitamin D completely but also worried about giving myself vit D toxicity. So I started a 1,000 unit dose that included vit K . I felt much better on the 10,000 unit dose. I also started Nattokinase.

    Thank you for this video, as the information I could find on vit D dosage was confusing with no real guidelines depending upon the source. I want to return to the higher dose and feel more inclined to do so now.

    I hope you understand how important your efforts are to so many people. We are the mercy of a rigged healthcare system but your guidance can be lifesaving. I want to be proactive but without the proper information available, it is a daunting task.

    Thank you.

    • Simone Nash on June 28, 2023 at 1:05 pm

      I was diagnosed with lupus,but it was lyme disease….I believe I was mire susceptible due to mthfr and nit methylating…anyway I have had my biggest improvements from detoxing parasites toxins and mold ..as well as no wheat,limited grains, dairy( not much as it gives me inflammation) sugar junk food.

    • Rick Reese on June 28, 2023 at 2:19 pm

      Have a dear friend who took 75K/daily.
      After several months, blood test said to
      back off, kidney failing. Cut back to 30K.
      With K2, he had knee replacement and
      rides bike all over, says D 3 even helps
      His teeth ! 🤔🤷🏿‍♂️

    • BC C on June 28, 2023 at 2:50 pm

      You may also benefit from raw garlic. I make three runny eggs in the morning with chopped up raw garlic on top. It’s way yummy! Trying to avoid circulatory problems. 🙏

  14. Divesh S on June 28, 2023 at 12:28 pm

    I’ve been taking 10k IUs for 2.5 years now. Reversed diabetes, asthma, autoimmune disease and cleared covid with ease. I also fast regularly and do a carnivore diet. I have no need for any meds anymore and haven’t gotten sick since covid 2 years ago.

    • Claudia C on June 28, 2023 at 6:34 pm

      Wow. Do u take vit K2 aswell?

  15. peggy Lilley on June 28, 2023 at 12:57 pm

    My doctor recommended 10,000 ius and magnesium. He’s the best doctor I’ve ever seen. Thank you Dr Berg for more information 🙏

    • Dr. Eric Berg DC on June 28, 2023 at 3:32 pm

      That’s great!

  16. Johnnie Blackwell on June 28, 2023 at 1:48 pm

    I’ve been taking 15K IU daily for several years. Last time I had my 25-hydroxy D level checked it was about 80. Doc was surprised, but said “keep doing what you’re doing.”

  17. Bart Marko on June 28, 2023 at 2:13 pm

    Four years ago I was taking 160,000 units a day. Of course, with a set of ADEK vitamins. 150,000, 120,000, 100,000, 70,000, 40,000 and now I’m taking about 10,000-15,000 a day. I had undetectable levels of vitamin d3. Of course, I did the research myself being completely desperate, because no doctor would ever come up with such a thing. They tried to tell me that I had juvenile osteoporosis and that “I should prepare myself for old age in pain”. I had no strength to live, all my joints ached and in the morning I could barely straighten my fingers. Vitamins ADEK + a complete change of diet or actually learning what a real diet is + no more doctors ever again = health. Today I jump, I run like when I was 15 years old and I’m getting ready for my first boxing training, although 4 years ago I couldn’t walk 3 meters to the toilet (meniscus injury + joints pain). Always look for a solution yourself, because today a doctor is no longer a medic, but a sales representative of pharmaceutical companies who can only destroy your life. Listen only and only to those doctors who have been talking for years about vitamin D3, changing the diet and telling the truth about the pharmaceutical industry. I wish you all good health.

    • Rick Reese on June 28, 2023 at 2:38 pm

      GR8 post 😊

  18. may_sue_hmong on June 28, 2023 at 3:36 pm

    It’s great to know about more reasons and benefits of taking vitamin D3. Ever since I discovered this channel a few years ago, it has changed my life for the better. It took a while but with my doctors advice, I gradually weaned off some prescription drugs for insomnia and depression. Taking vitamins and doing deep breathing exercises has helped me significantly with my mental health. I no longer have to deal with the horrible side effects. Thanks Dr. Berg!

  19. pamela pruitt on June 28, 2023 at 5:25 pm

    I took 20K IU/month of D3 when Sars-Cov 2 began and continue for a year. My MD freaked out when I told her how much I was taking. And yet, my blood showed 95.4 on a scale of 30-100. After a YEAR of daily intake. I did decrease to 10K per day and have continued since then. I have no side effects and in fact I feel much better. My ‘faith’ in doctors has hit rock bottom. They still expect to command the respect they received in the past, but they are an ignorant, bought off group of trained monkeys.

    • Bazos Marek on June 28, 2023 at 6:46 pm

      2 years ago I had 150ng/ml… i still dont know if it was too much or ok…

  20. Paula Berlund on June 28, 2023 at 5:40 pm

    Before I retired 5 years ago, I spent a lot of time explaining that vitamin D is a hormone and the higher doses they needed. Especially my patients with diabetes and anyone with co- morbid conditions. Those who listened would return on follow up telling me how their health was improving. Thank you for spreading the information. ❤

Leave a Comment





Never miss another post...

Subscribe to

Weight Loss

Tips Now!

We always respect your privacy