Best Hours For Intermittent Fasting | The Golden Hours

IF60 Fasting Program Waitlist:

Best Hours For Intermittent Fasting | The Golden Hours is a video that refers to the research to show physiological changes when intermittent fasting.

The best time for intermittent fasting is always asked of me. A lot of people want to dial in their fasting times so that they can get the best fat burning results. However they are uncertain as to which hours they should follow. The research clearly defines what is happening as to which intermittent fasting hours are the most crucial.

The best intermittent fasting schedule is without a doubt 16:8. The reason it is best is because the major changes take place during these hours of 12 and 16. Thus, making the 16 hour mark a worthwhile pace to stop fasting and achieve great results. The intermittent fasting results are still incredible with a 16:8 intermittent fast as it allows our physiology to adapt to a healthier normal on a daily basis.

The intermittent fast offers incredible health results. It supports lowering your hormone insulin, lowering your blood glucose, emptying your blood glycogen stores, raising the hormone glucagon, mobilizes free fatty acids, and lastly your ketones rocket up so that they can now be used as the new energy source. As a result your body now is a fat burning machine that is functioning at a much healthier level.

The best time to do intermittent fasting is important to know because if we are doing fasting in a way that doesn't benefit us, then we are wasting our time. It needs to be our goal to receive the maximum benefits of fasting and get the maximum benefit for our efforts to improve our health.

Dr. Z's Low Carb Diet Cookbook:
Apple Cider Vinegar Capsules:
My Favorite Apple Cider Vinegar:
Dr. Zyrowski's Health & Nutrition Store:
Precision Xtra Meter:
Precision Keto Strips:
Recommended Keto Cookbook:

Don't forget to subscribe ▻▻

Follow me 🙂

Instagram |

Blog |

Facebook |

I wanna hear from you!
48864 Romeo Plank
Macomb Mi, 48044
Dr. Nick Zyrowski

NEVER MISS A POST AGAIN...

Join our update list today!

41 Comments

  1. Damien Neveu on November 19, 2018 at 11:23 am

    Agreed 16/8 is the easiest protocol to get into and maintain. It really is a low entry barrier to IF. Most experienced IF-ers will combine different protocols during the week, but glad to hear this “simple” technique already yields major benefits.
    Great vid but the chart was a bit small, watching on my phone in the metro was a bit challenging. Full screen next time pls 🙂

    • Damien Neveu on December 31, 2018 at 11:53 am

      Black lightning that’s correct. I typically have lunch at 12pm and eat dinner before 8pm. But if you don’t want to give up breakfast, no problem, you can have it at 8am and finish lunch (or lunch+dinner if hungry;) sometime before 4pm. Any combination of a 16hr fasting window (only drinking water or black coffee) followed by an 8hr-restricted eating window (preferably a low-carb diet) works. Also it’s ok to “cheat” 1 or 2 days per week (typically on the w-e), you’ll still get the health benefits.
      I’ve been doing it for 10 months now and I’ve lost 9kg with little exercise. I’ve now reached my ideal weight and just maintaining.
      Try it out, it’s real easy !

    • Black lightning on December 31, 2018 at 1:51 pm

      @Damien Neveu thanks for the tips mate I plan on starting keto in February while also doing the IMF.

    • ablosh on February 5, 2019 at 2:43 am

      Did you ease into it? I can’t seem to go past 14 hours before I become crankily hungry.

    • Damien Neveu on February 5, 2019 at 4:00 am

      ablosh I went cold turkey to 16:8 but in retrospect that wasn’t the best idea : I had headaches after the 13hr mark for 2 weeks… I was a sugar addict alright.
      Going incrementally is a good idea, you’ll still reap some IF benefits after “just” 14hrs. Take your time, your body will definitely adapt. Also eating Low Carb Healthy Fats (e.g. less bread/pasta/cereal and more fish/meat/eggs/nuts) will help decrease cravings.
      Good luck !

    • Sandra E. on April 28, 2019 at 2:22 am

      I’m 18/6 and was surprised that I was able to adjust as quickly as I did. Love it!

  2. Desaree Ramsey on November 19, 2018 at 9:57 pm

    Hi Dr. Nick, just watched your video and I would like to know, if I’m doing the 16/8 IF on Keto/OMAD, how many calories should I consume in my meal to get the best results. I also weight train 4 times a week, menopausal and hypertensive but since I’ve started the Keto diet my pressure has been normal. I have not taken my meds going on a month now and I feel fine.

  3. noone on December 12, 2018 at 6:42 pm

    Thank you for this video. I’ve been doing this 16/8 Intermittent Fasting for over 3 months now eating 2 to 3 meals with in the 8 hours of eating window. It has become a lifestyle thus far. I do have a concern. How long should I be staying on Intermittent Fasting? Would there be a health concern? Love to get your response. Thanks again!!! 😉

  4. Pat Sherard on December 16, 2018 at 1:46 am

    Dr. Nick, this information is exactly what I needed to hear. You have empowered us with knowledge that was easy to understand and easy to implement. I am new to fasting for my health but I also want to lose weight.

    Thank you again for doing the research, sharing it with us, and for empowering us…your subscriber audience.

  5. Eric Hung on December 23, 2018 at 7:28 am

    Hi Nick, thanks for the awesome vids… I’m a competitive cyclist and train using the different “training zones” for my workouts. For example, Zone 1 are long “cardio” workouts, typically 1.5-2hrs of low intensity aimed at training my body to efficiently use fat stores. My Zone 3 and 5 workouts are medium (3 x 5-10min intervals) and short (8-12 x 2-3 min intervals) workouts that effectively use my sugar stores. I’m dabbling in the 16:8 time restricted eating, typically having my last meal at 7pm and my first meal around 11am. Due to my work and family life, in the offseason, I tend to do my indoor cycling training at 8 or 9pm at night, so close to the beginning of my fast.

    Three questions…

    1) By doing my workout at the beginning of my fast, am I basically “speeding up” the fasting process in regards to accelerating the decrease of insulin levels earlier in the fasting period as well as reducing the glycogen levels earlier and therefore speeding up the glucagon impact and growth hormones?

    2) If performance enhancement, and not fat loos, is my main goal, do you think doing my Zone 3 and 5 workouts (where I’m mostly using the sugar energy system and want to get the most power out of my muscles) at the beginning of my fast period would make more sense.

    3) For my Zone 1 training where I am trying to burn fat and train my body to do it more efficiently, does it matter if I’m doing it at the beginning or end of my fast? My theory is that Zone 1 training at the beginning may “kick start” my fast so that the rest of the fast period is accelerated and net net give the same benefit that doing a Zone 1 session near the end of a fast period.

    • Tara Terblanche on July 8, 2020 at 6:30 pm

      I love this question and wish he replied!

  6. Mael-Strom on December 25, 2018 at 1:40 pm

    I learned 18/6 fasting and QiGong in a Zen Buddhist temple in Taiwan about 15 years ago. I now practice QiGong every day and rely on OMAD 23/1 (I discovered it is an ancient Taoist practice) for optimum health and tranquility. Thank you Dr Nick Zyrowski for demonstrating the science behind these methods. My GP who was a doubter will be pleased. Oh, btw …I am 67 years old and feel like I’m 18 to the annoyance of my sons. …lol.

    • Mael-Strom on February 23, 2019 at 3:26 pm

      @Doris Otu-Nyarko QiGong, also known as ChiKung is an ancient art of self healing using movement and meditation. Chi in this case means vital energy and Kung means cultivation or right effort. Although some practices look similar, it is older than TaiChi and was first recorded in a book called “The Yellow Emperor’s Classic of Internal Medicine” about 700BC.

    • Gayane A on June 9, 2019 at 8:26 am

      Question: when you just have one meal what exactly do you eat? I’m vegan so most of my meals are veggies and i get hungry again

    • Baiba E on June 14, 2019 at 6:04 pm

      @Gayane A quit veganism and eat normal and observe IF

    • Gayane A on June 14, 2019 at 9:32 pm

      Baiba E i’m good thx

    • MyCup Overflows on June 27, 2019 at 10:42 pm

      @Gayane A vegan has challenges because of low calories and fats. Add in lots of olives, avocados, oils to your omad.

  7. Aqua22 on December 28, 2018 at 11:12 pm

    I studied nutrition at tertiary level and I wish my lecturers had taught us this. Nonetheless I can now pass it on as I’m a health consultant/coach. Thank you – great video and your explanation was very clear and flowed well.

  8. El Tuco on December 29, 2018 at 6:41 pm

    I’ve been IF’ing for about 6 weeks and I’m still fine tuning the hours and times. It can get a little tricky when fitting social events but overall I’m very happy with the results so far.
    I now fluctuate between 18/6 and 20/4 and will probably stick with this a little while before I gradually switch to OMAD.

    Thank you for this and all your videos! 👍🏼

  9. Swati Sreejith on January 11, 2019 at 10:34 pm

    Hi Dr. Nick,thanks for the info! I have started doing the 16:8 Fasting. I feel my body is adjusting well. I tend to have a freshly made vegetable juice somewhere around the 14th hour. I wanted to know if that is ok. Thanks in advance!

  10. James Jones on January 16, 2019 at 4:44 am

    One meal a day for me and I eat everyday at 1pm. I’ve lost 100 pounds in 1 year. 289 to 189 I feel awesome!

    • R Rolyan on June 18, 2019 at 11:16 pm

      RandomUtuber I started at 162.5 and went to 132 in about 6 months eating anything that I wanted once a day for one hour usually between 2 and 3pm. Omad has been the answer to the weight struggle.

    • jasbir kalsi on July 3, 2019 at 2:08 am

      @R Rolyan do u drink water while fasting?

    • Red Roses on July 9, 2019 at 2:33 pm

      Omg if me my gastric pain will attack me

    • Edward Castine on July 12, 2019 at 12:23 am

      How many calories in the meal James.. I was 320 two years ago, 280 rn.. my target weight loss goal is 205

    • AmazingGrace on September 2, 2019 at 7:42 pm

      👏Excellent. Well done.

  11. BethyKable on January 23, 2019 at 4:22 am

    I appreciate his clear and concise presentations and how quickly he gets to the point. No babbling, weird music, hyperbole or bouncing all over the board leaving you confused and scratching your head. I’ve learned so much from him !

  12. Ashley Pace on January 23, 2019 at 5:08 pm

    Wow, great video. Thanks so much. I have been doing OMAD and strict keto since Jan 1st and I’m pain free. Lost 20 lbs. One day I’ll eat at 6pm and the next I’ll eat my one meal at 2 pm. I’m never hungry and feel so much energy. I have 30 lbs to go. Goal is May 1st

  13. Baroness J.Alexandra on January 23, 2019 at 10:31 pm

    Short, sweet and to the point packed with relevant info! Thank you very much Dr Nick.

  14. Dub Bass on January 30, 2019 at 12:24 pm

    I have been intermittent fasting for about a year, doing the 16/8 hour cycle. Its great, I have lost weight and feel amazing and my diet has improved.

  15. Live and Let Di on January 31, 2019 at 1:35 am

    GREAT video!!!! I love how you really simplified the breakdown of the process.

  16. Yana's Opinion on February 16, 2019 at 1:35 am

    I love this! I’ve been IF for two months and am pregnant and feel amazing! My weight gain is steady and doesn’t sky rocket like my other pregnancies did 🙂

  17. Rathakrishnan Arumugam on March 15, 2019 at 12:37 am

    I’m doing this with full confidence. Your graphical explanation gives more inside information on what sort changes happening in the body and why? Great video Dr. I’ve lost almost 8 Kgs in 3 months. I still can continue with my Physical Activities such as heavy travelling and sports as usual with full of energy as before. Imagine how much of spare fuel being kept in the body…Tks again.

  18. Daniel Colucci on May 27, 2019 at 1:07 am

    I’m doing 20/4. 20 fasting 4 eating. 7pm at night to 3pm afternoon Fasting!
    3pm afternoon to 7 pm at night eating. Lost 40 lbs in 3 months. No Muscle or strength loss

    • edawson on June 10, 2019 at 11:18 pm

      Doing the same thing and have lost 40 lbs in 3 months also. Not necessarily following any particular diet other than not putting fast food or loads of sugar in my body anymore. I eat a lot of brown rice, chicken, beef, veggies, non-fat Greek yogurt and granola, powdered peanut butter (PBfit). I do splurge here and there and eat whatever I want, but normally I eat between 2600 and 3100 calories a day of good shtuff in my 4 hour eating window. I break my fast with a salad then wait about an hour to hour and a half (most of the time) before I eat anything else. During the day I drink black coffee and water. I do take a pre workout (EVL shred engine) in the morning when I run or lift (3 – 4 times per week) which may or may not take me out of a fasted state, but I really don’t know nor do I care because it’s working and I love it. Only downside is that I have to buy new clothes because of all the weight I’ve lost. Not a bad thing I’d say!

    • EverlastingAbundance on June 17, 2019 at 2:58 am

      And what do you eat between 3 to 7?

    • Alicia Bea on July 4, 2019 at 5:19 pm

      Wow amazing did you eat healthy or just eat what you want

    • Red Roses on July 9, 2019 at 2:34 pm

      Good idea I will try this

    • Barney Rubble on July 13, 2019 at 4:00 am

      Keto/fasting can strip minerals which is why the salad, vegetables are so important. GARBAGE IN, GARBAGE OUT.

  19. Nader S. on June 14, 2019 at 6:49 am

    Fantastic video, great information and very easy to visualize with the graphs. It really make sense after watching this video. Not difficult to stick with 16 hours fasting. Doc is also an Excellent speaker too. Thank you

  20. Gokila Vijay on December 9, 2022 at 4:12 pm

    Very informative…. I really thought may be OMAD is more effective

Leave a Comment





Never miss another post...

Subscribe to

Weight Loss

Tips Now!

We always respect your privacy